(Updated at 9:37 p.m.)

The counting is done, and unofficial final tallies are complete.

With just 1,722 votes in total countywide, the Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax fund will be extended to 2032. A total of $64 million in collections proposed for this ballot to be split between the County government and the cities, the extension was approved 1,116 to 606 in remaining contested race on the ballot.

The results from Aragon and Rockmart were posted earlier and are available below.

Official word on whether a run off vote will be required for Rockmart’s Mayors Race hasn’t been provided by Elections Director Noah Beck, but the 50%+1 that incumbent Sherman Ross would need to win was not achieved in the tallies provided tonight.

Check back for more on Wednesday following the Board of Elections meeting to certify today’s vote.

For now, here’s the PDF of the results provided by the Board of Elections:

(Updated at 8:34 p.m.)

Final tallies are now available for Aragon and Rockmart elections for the night in the latest figures provided by the Board of Elections this evening.

Winners are declared in most of the races, but the Rockmart Mayor’s Race will likely require a run off – though that is not yet official per Elections Director Noah Beck. More information will follow on that on Wednesday.

Results for the Countywide SPLOST vote are not yet complete, but the approval of the extension to 2032 is likely to pass.

Low turnout in Aragon meant that extremely close races have determined the Mayor’s Race and one of the three council seats up for grabs. Judd Fee won 60-54 (114 votes in total) over Stephen Wilson to stay Mayor of Aragon for the next four years. He has been in the acting role for the past months.

Stephen Sanders will definitely take over the remainder of the term of one council seat after winning 61-54 in the race for the seat. Ed Streetman took 92 votes and Donnie Canada took 62 to retain their seats. Gary Shindelbower took just 45 votes in the race.

The Rockmart Mayor’s Race will probably require a runoff based on tonight’s preliminary and unofficial tallies. Incumbent Sherman Ross took 240 votes in the race, while challengers James Payne took 218, and Cooley Austin took 74.

Here’s what the results look like in contested races:


Mayor’s Race

CandidateVote Total
Judd Fee60
Stephen Wilson54

Council (At Large)

CandidateVote Total
Donnie Canada62
Gary Shindelbower45
Ed Streetman92

Council (Special Election)

CandidateVote Total
Tammy Kilgore54
Stephen Sanders61


Mayor’s Race

CandidateVote Total
Cooley Austin74
James Payne218
Sherman Ross240

Countywide SPLOST

SPLOST ExtensionVote Total

Leave a comment

Please Login to Comment.