Time is running out to take part in making a local decision about who will be on the County Commission.

Early voting is still open for today and Friday ahead of the Primary Runoff locally being conducted on Tuesday, June 18 countywide.

Voters can head to either the Cedartown precinct or the Rockmart precinct to cast a ballot. The Cedartown precinct is at the Goodyear Civic Center on Prior Street in Cedartown (at the corner with Furnace) and at the Nathan Dean Civic Center on Goodyear Avenue in Rockmart.

Both precincts are open from 9 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Early voters have one more chance on Friday to cast a ballot during extended hours from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. at both precincts.

Tuesday, the numbers increased to 235 votes at the Cedartown precinct, and 161 votes at the Rockmart precinct recorded as of close of business on Tuesday, June 11. Those were increases of 116 ballots cast in Cedartown, and another 80 votes cast in Rockmart, doubling up on the Monday total.

89 absentee ballots in total were returned as of Tuesday as well, an increase of another 10.

Numbers weren’t yet available for Wednesday at the time of writing of this post in the evening.

Two more days to early vote are available to GOP Primary participants for deciding two local posts: the District 1 and District 3 County Commission seats.

Voters are being asked to decide in District 1 between incumbent Jordan Hubbard and challenger Michael Gravett. Over in the District 3 race, incumbent Ray Carter is being challenged by John Paschal in the GOP primary. Both of these races are countywide.

Democratic primary voters are only choosing the District 14 nomination for who will seek the US House seat against GOP Congresswoman Marjorie Taylor Greene, between Shawn Harris and Clarence Blalock. The winner gets to face Greene in the fall during the general election.

Election officials provided the following examples to determine which ballot you can choose for the runoff vote:

For example, if you voted a republican ballot in the May 21st General Primary Election, you may only vote on a republican ballot in the June 18th Runoff Election. Additionally, if you voted a democratic ballot in the May 21st General Primary Election, you may only vote on a democratic ballot in the June 18th Runoff Election.

If you did not vote at all or you voted a nonpartisan ballot in the May 21st General Primary Election, you may vote in either the republican or democratic June 18th Runoff election.

Leave a comment

Please Login to Comment.